Recognizing Outstanding Leaders of Inclusion at the 2019 Global Pluralism Award Ceremony

2019 Global Pluralism Award Ceremony

At a ceremony on November 20, 2019 in Ottawa, Canada, His Highness the Aga Khan, Chairman of the Centre’s Board of Directors, presented the Global Pluralism Award to three winners and seven honourable mention recipients, with opening remarks by the Centre’s new Secretary General, Meredith Preston McGhie.

Speaking at the ceremony, His Highness the Aga Khan said, “The award should serve as a reminder that we can all take steps, in both our personal and professional lives, to foster a more positive and productive response to the changing diversity in our world. The award offers examples to inspire and inform how we take on that challenge.”

Secretary General Meredith Preston McGhie, in her opening remarks, said, “The awardees offer positive and concrete examples of exceptional individuals and organisations who envision a world in which differences are valued and diverse societies prosper. I believe we all share this vision. The Global Centre for Pluralism looks forward to working closely with the 2019 recipients over the next year to help them broaden their reach to new partners and deepen their impact.”


The Global Pluralism Award recognizes pluralism in action. It celebrates the extraordinary achievements of organizations, individuals or governments that are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity.

From over 500 applications from 74 countries, the Award recipients were chosen by an independent international jury, chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada, following a rigorous review and selection process. The three winners will each be granted $CAN50,000 and in-kind support to advance their work to promote more peaceful, inclusive and successful societies.



Read the opening remarks by Meredith Preston McGhie.

Read remarks by His Highness the Aga Khan.


2019 Award Winners: 

Center for Social Integrity, Myanmar

Deborah Ahenkorah, Ghana

Learning History that is not yet History, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia


2019 Honourable Mentions: 

Adyan Foundation, Lebanon

Artemisszió Foundation, Hungary

onBoard Canada, Canada

Rupantar, Bangladesh

SINGA, France

Soliya, USA